Japanese Culture & Photography
4 min readOct 12, 2021

--

Local Town Office (Getting Married in Japan Part 3)

https://www.instagram.com/photography.japan/

After getting your stamped translation of your marriage status from the American embassy (part 2) then you can submit your papers to your local town office (区役所 kuyakusho). We contacted beforehand to see what kind of papers are necessary to submit and apparently the necessary paper work changes based on what country you are from so I highly suggest you to contact your local town office beforehand unless you are an American then you will have go through the same process as me.

I decided to submit my papers on 10/10 because it is a special day to get married in Japan apparently and more importantly it is easy to remember.

When I was going to my local town office, apparently they weren’t open since it is a Sunday. For Japanese people getting married, you can just submit your papers in a drop off box or so I heard from my wife. However, for foreign marriages they need to check your papers and confirm your identity so you need to submit it in person. So does this mean that you can only submit your papers during the weekday? No. You can go to your local city hall to submit your papers. (区民館 kuminkan)

区民館 KUMINKAN (City Hall)

I went to the receptionist and they pretty much handled everything there. Technically they do not process your documents and they only check your identity and then submit your papers to your local…

--

--

Japanese Culture & Photography

Japanese culture, food, sightseeing spots, and photography. Tokyo based Asian American professional photographer born and raised in Hawaii.