Japanese vs American Mountain Dew

Japanese Culture & Photography
4 min readJan 16, 2023

Have you ever wondered why Japanese Mountain Dew tastes different than American Mountain Dew?

Photo Taken by Alfred Kan

Just recently one of my good friends that was visiting from Hawaii gave me a 2 liter bottle of American Mountain Dew as a gift. I have always wondered if they were the same but after taste testing the two, I finally know that they are very different.

Color

Japanese Mountain Dew (Left) & American Mountain Dew (Right) Photo Taken by Alfred Kan

Honestly, I was just going to go straight to the taste test but I wanted to see if the color of the two were the same. To my surprise, as you can see from the above photo that the two are clearly different. Japanese Mountain Dew has more of a dark yellow color and American Mountain Dew has a yellow but slightly green color.

Warning: positions of the two drinks are reversed compared to the previous photo. Photo Taken by Alfred Kan

Taste

After tasting the two back to back, I realized that they have very distinct tastes. For one, the American Mountain Dew as we all know has a little bit sour but strong lemon taste. However, the Japanese Mountain Dew is very sweet and has a strong after taste that lingers after you…

--

--

Japanese Culture & Photography

Japanese culture, food, sightseeing spots, and photography. Tokyo based Asian American professional photographer born and raised in Hawaii.