Japanese Culture & Photography
4 min readJan 20, 2022

--

How to Buy Big Shoes in Tokyo Japan

Probably my biggest struggle in Japan is finding shoes that are big enough to fit my feet.

My biggest regret when I came to Japan was not buying enough shoes in America.

If you are shoe size 10.5 (28.5 cm) or higher, you will struggle finding your shoe in Japan.

I am not that picky when it comes to the design of my shoes but over 70% of the time when I ask the staff if they have 30 cm, they say that they only have size 28.5 cm (10.5in) or 29 cm (11 in).

Why is it so hard to buy big shoes in Japan?

The main reason for this is that your average Japanese person is smaller and thinner compared to your average American.

Many Japanese males are only 5 feet tall and 7.2 in (170.8 cm) vs American males who average at 5 feet 9 in (175 cm). Your shoe size is usually proportional to you height so you can imagine that Japanese people tend to have smaller shoe sizes.

Recommendation

Recently I found this store just exploring Tokyo but it was located east of Hirai Station east of Tokyo. This store is called Tokyo Shoe Circulation Center (東京靴流通センター Toukyou kutsu ryuu senta-). It looks like they have multiple locations including Ueno, Koiwa, etc but mainly in east Tokyo.

--

--

Japanese Culture & Photography

Japanese culture, food, sightseeing spots, and photography. Tokyo based Asian American professional photographer born and raised in Hawaii.